Distinguished Teaching Award

The Berkeley campus' most prestigious award for teaching, the Distinguished Teaching Award, is intended to encourage and recognize individual excellence in teaching. Such teaching rises above good teaching: it incites intellectual curiosity in students, engages them thoroughly in the enterprise of learning, and has a life-long impact. While acknowledging the fact that the Berkeley faculty comprises many outstanding teachers, the Committee on Teaching is extremely selective in determining the recipients of this award: only 223 faculty have received the award since its inception in 1959.

Award History

  • David Lieberman
    James W. and Isabel Coffroth Professor of Jurisprudence
  • Trond Petersen
    Professor of Sociology
  • George W. Breslauer
    Faculty Director of The Magnes Collection of Jewish Art and Life and Professor of the Graduate School in The Charles and Louise Travers Department of Political Science
  • Janet Broughton
    Professor of Philosophy, Emerita
  • Bob Jacobsen
    Professor of Physics
  • William Drummond
    Professor of the School of Journalism
  • Neil Smelser
    University Professor Emeritus at UC Berkeley
  • Margot Norris
    Chancellor's Professor Emerita of English and Comparative Literature at UC Irvine