

320 STEPHENS HALL UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA

NOTICE OF MEETING* BERKELEY DIVISION OF THE ACADEMIC SENATE Wednesday, May 1, 2019, 3:00 – 5:00 p.m. Sibley Auditorium, Bechtel Engineering Center

Items on the agenda for the spring meeting of the Berkeley Division include:

- Strategies for evaluating teaching at Berkeley A panel presentation and discussion of strategies for evaluating teaching, including the goals of a recently proposed revision to campus policies and practices.
- Update on UC's negotiations with Elsevier University Librarian Jeffrey MacKie-Mason will provide an update on UC's negotiations with Elsevier

• Announcements

Chancellor Carol Christ Division Chair Barbara Spackman Graduate Assembly President Jonathan Morris

• Report of standing committees

Committee on Academic Planning and Resource Allocation Committee on Faculty Awards (written report only) Committee on Faculty Research Lecture (written report only) Committee on Rules and Elections

• Proposed legislation

Proposed amendments to Berkeley Division Bylaw 31 governing the Committee on Admissions, Enrollment, and Preparatory Education

^{*} Communications may be directed to the Academic Senate e-mail address: acad_sen@berkeley.edu.

In Memoriam

In Memoriam is a compilation of commemorative statements honoring deceased members of the Division, their lives, and service to the University. Memorials are contributed by various sources, including colleagues of the deceased and the Office of Public Affairs; *In Memoriam*, the systemwide Academic Senate's online publication, makes these tributes generally available here: http://senate.universityofcalifornia.edu/in-memoriam/index.php.

The Committee on Memorial Resolutions has approved memorials for the following Berkeley faculty since October 2018. The authors of the memorials are listed in the column to the right.

James McMurry Anderson (Civil and Environmental Engineering)	George Lee Robert L. Taylor Carl L. Monismith
Anthony Stillman Bliss (The Bancroft Library)	Peter E. Hanff Charles B. Faulhaber Elaine C. Tennant
Kun Chang (East Asian Languages and Cultures)	H. Samuel Cheung
Martin V. Covington (Psychology)	Rhona S. Weinstein Linda M. von Hoene Sheldon Zedeck
George E. Goldman (Agricultural and Resource Economics)	Jeffrey M. Perloff Howard Rosenberg Polly Goldman Amy Block Joy
Lawrence Morton Grossman (Nuclear Engineering)	Edward C. Morse T. Kenneth Fowler
Eugene E. Haller (Materials Science and Engineering and Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory)	Junqiao Wu Oscar Dubon Jr.
Robert L. Hartman (Art Practice)	Katherine Sherwood Farley Gwazda
Harry D. Huskey (Mathematics and Electrical Engineering)	Heather Levien Manfred Warmuth James Demmel

Herma Hill Kay (Law)	Andrew Bradt
Saba Mahmood (Anthropology)	Judith Butler Cori Hayden
Marina Ratner (Mathematics)	Alan Weinstein
William D. Rohwer Jr. (Education)	Paul Ammon Elliot Turiel
Jack Howard Silver (Mathematics)	Paolo Mancosu Thomas Scanlon John Steel
Neil Joseph Smelser (Sociology)	Judson King Victoria Bonnell Michael Burawoy
Paul Takao Takagi (Criminology and Education)	Dana Buntrock Susan Holloway Michael Omi
Dennis Earl Teeguarden (Environmental Science, Policy, and Management)	J. Keith Gilless
Stephen Kent Tollefson (College Writing Programs)	Jane Hammons Michael Larkin John Levine Gail Offen-Brown Victoria Robinson
Anne Marie Treisman (Psychology)	Lynn Robertson

Respectfully submitted,

James Casey Chair, Committee on Memorial Resolutions Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Bioengineering

ORDER OF BUSINESS

I. Minutes

Minutes of the October 29, 2018 meeting of the Division (Enclosure 1)

II. Announcements by the President

President Janet Napolitano is unable to attend.

III. Other Announcements

- A. Chancellor Carol Christ
- B. Berkeley Division Chair Barbara Spackman
- C. Graduate Assembly President Jonathan Morris

IV. Special Orders-Consent Calendar

For proposed legislative amendments, **additions** to the current text are noted by an underline; **deletions** to the current text are noted by a strikethrough line. Per Division bylaws the consent calendar is approved in the absence of a quorum.

A. Proposed amendments to Berkeley Division bylaw 31 governing the Committee on Admissions, Enrollment, and Preparatory Education (AEPE)

The Committee on Admissions, Enrollment, and Preparatory Education (AEPE) proposes an amendment to the bylaws to reflect the new combined position (as of January 1, 2019) of Assistant Vice Chancellor and Director of Undergraduate Admissions. Minor editorial changes also bring AEPE's bylaw into alignment with other committee bylaws. The Committee on Rules and Elections reviewed the proposed amendments and found them to be consonant with Berkeley Division bylaws and regulations. Divisional Council (DIVCO) also approved the proposed legislation.

31. ADMISSIONS, ENROLLMENT, AND PREPARATORY EDUCATION (Am. 10.25.94, 10.17.95, 11.4.96, 10.21.99, 4.25.05; EC. 11.21.00, 05.03.17, <u>mm.dd.yy</u>)

A. Membership

This Committee consists of at least six Senate members, normally serving three year staggered terms, the Assistant or Associate Vice Chancellor <u>and Director of Undergraduate</u> <u>Admissions</u>-Admissions and Enrollment, as a voting member, <u>and</u> two student members, the Director of Undergraduate Admissions, as a non-voting member. The student members are appointed, and shall serve, in accordance with the provisions of Bylaw 13C.

B. Duties

This Committee considers and reports on matters involving admissions and enrollment at Berkeley.
This Committee exercises in the Division responsibilities regarding preparatory education that are assigned by the systemwide Senate Committee on Preparatory Education and by the Division. (EC 6.00)

A related conforming change will be made to BDB 2A, Membership, to reflect the new title for this campus position.

2. MEMBERSHIP

- A. Members of the Division are:
 - The President;
 - The Chancellor, Vice Chancellors, Provosts, Deans, Directors of academic programs, <u>Assistant Vice Chancellor and Director of Undergraduate Admissions</u> Assistant or Associate Vice Chancellor for Admissions and Enrollment, Registrar, and chief Librarian at Berkeley; (EC. 11.21.00)
 - All Professors, Professors in Residence, Professors of Clinical _____, and Acting Professors;
 - Associate Professors, Associate Professors in Residence, Associate Professors of Clinical____, and Acting Associate Professors;
 - Assistant Professors, Assistant Professors in Residence, and Assistant Professors of Clinical____;
 - Instructors, Instructors in Residence;
 - Senior Lecturers with Security of Employment, Lecturers with Security of Employment, Senior Lecturers with Potential for Security of Employment, and Lecturers with Potential for Security of Employment, with full time teaching responsibilities in curricula under the control of the Academic Senate, whose duties lie primarily in Berkeley; and
 - Those Vice Presidents, Deans, and Directors of statewide units who choose to enroll in this Division.
- V. Reports of Special Committees (None)
- VI. Reports of Standing Committees
 - A. Committee on Academic Planning and Resource Allocation
 - B. Committee on Faculty Awards (written report only Enclosure 2)
 - C. Committee on Faculty Research Lecture (written report only Enclosure 3)

D. Committee on Rules and Elections

- VII. Petitions of Students (None)
- VIII. Unfinished Business (None)

IX. University and Faculty Welfare (Discussion only)

A. Update on UC's negotiations with Elsevier University Librarian Jeffrey MacKie-Mason will provide an update on UC's negotiations with Elsevier.

B. Strategies for evaluating teaching at Berkeley A panel presentation and discussion of strategies for evaluating teaching, including the goals of a recently proposed revision to campus policies and

X. New Business (None)

practices.