The Committee on Faculty Awards is accepting nominations for the 2022 Berkeley Faculty Service Award.

# The deadline for submission has been extended to Friday, November 19, 2021

The Berkeley Faculty Service Award honors a member of the Berkeley Division of the Academic Senate who has given outstanding and dedicated service to the Berkeley campus. The previous recipients are listed below and online at: <a href="https://academic-senate.berkeley.edu/awards/bfsa">https://academic-senate.berkeley.edu/awards/bfsa</a>

#### **CRITERIA FOR NOMINATION:**

The Berkeley Faculty Service Award recognizes a member of the Berkeley Division of the Academic Senate whose activities as a faculty member have significantly enhanced the quality of the campus as an educational institution and community of scholars. This award rewards Academic Senate service, which is essential to the ideal of shared governance, through Senate committee service or participation in ad-hoc joint Senate-administrative committees. Over their careers, candidates for the award exemplify outstanding service that has a lasting and significant impact on the excellence of the Berkeley campus.

#### **ELIGIBILITY:**

All members of the Berkeley Division of the Academic Senate, including emeritus faculty, are eligible. However, the committee does not normally nominate faculty who are holding administrative appointments such as dean or vice provost.

### **REQUIREMENTS:**

Nominations should include a 150-word summary of the nominee's service to the Berkeley campus.

Nominations remain active for 3 years. Updates to continuing nominations may be submitted during the open period.

### AWARD:

The Committee on Faculty Awards of the Berkeley Division recommends to the Division the individual or individuals who best embody the award criteria. In addition to a commendation modeled on the Berkeley Citation, a monetary award will be given. A private ceremony will be held in spring of 2022, local health conditions permitting

### **SUBMISSION:**

The deadline for submission is Friday, November 19, 2021.

Send nominations and questions to: <u>acad\_sen@berkeley.edu</u>

## Berkeley Faculty Service Award History

The Berkeley Faculty Service Award honors a member of the Berkeley Division of the Academic Senate for their outstanding and dedicated service to the campus, and whose activities as a faculty member have significantly enhanced the quality of the campus as an educational institution and community of scholars. This award recognizes Senate service, which is essential to the ideal of shared governance, and contributions that have had a lasting and significant impact on the excellence of the Berkeley campus.

2003	Judith E. Gruber (Political Science)	2015	George C. Johnson (Mechanical Engineering)	
2005	Calvin Moore (Mathematics)		Harry N. Scheiber (Law)	
2006	Sheldon Zedeck (Psychology)	2016	Janet Broughton (Philosophy) Bob Jacobsen (Physics)	
2007	Carol J. Clover (Scandinavian) Herma Hill Kay (Law)	2017	David Lieberman (Law) Trond Petersen (Sociology)	
2008	Margaret Conkey (Anthropology) Herbert Strauss (Chemistry)	2018	0,	
2009	Robert M. Anderson (Economics & Mathematics)			
2010	David Bogy (Mechanical Engineering) Christina Maslach (Psychology)	2019	Ignacio Navarrete (Spanish & Portuguese) Nancy Wallace (Business Administration)	
2011	Mary Firestone (Environmental Science & Policy Management) Robert Spear (Public Health)	2020	Jeffrey Knapp (English) Panos Papadopoulos (Mechanical Engineering)	
2012	Elizabeth Deakin (City & Regional Planning) Ronald Gronsky (Materials Science & Engineering)	2021	Alice Agogino (Mechanical Engineering) Oliver O'Reilly (Mechanical Engineering)	
2013	Fiona M. Doyle (Materials Science & Engineering) Nicholas P. Jewell (Public Health & Statistics)			
2014	Joseph Cerny (Chemistry) Margaretta M. Lovell (History of Art)			