Committee on Memorial Resolutions 2020-21 Annual Report - APPROVED

In 2020-21, memorials for the following 71 colleagues were approved and published in *In Memoriam* on the Academic Senate's website:

https://senate.universityofcalifornia.edu/in-memoriam/index.php

In Memoriam is a compilation of memorial resolutions honoring deceased members of the University of California, commemorating their lives and their service to the University. Memorials are normally written by close colleagues of the deceased.

A century ago, the idea of Memorial Resolutions written by the faculty took shape during the first severe viral pandemic of the 20th century: the Great Influenza. A century later, CMR would like to acknowledge the globally disruptive COVID-19 pandemic. The past year and a half has been a period of remote contact at the University. Nevertheless, classes were successfully run, research was pursued, and committees performed their business. Inperson social, cultural, and athletic events, and other essential parts of the fabric of the institution, were sorely missed. We wish to note that in the academic year 2020-21, one member of the Berkeley emeriti, Stuart Bowyer, the renowned astronomer, died at the age of 86 from complications of Covid-19.

The authors of the memorials are listed in the column on the right.

Clinton Edward Ballou (Biochemistry and Jeremy Thorner Molecular Biology) Randy Schekman

Jasper Rine

Giovanna Ferro-Luzzi Ames

Bruce N. Ames

Grigory Isaakovich Barenblatt (Mathematics) Michiel Bertsch

Alexandre Chorin Nigel Goldenfeld Juan Luis Vázquez

Elwyn Ralph Berlekamp (Mathematics and EECS) Nikhil Srivastava

Charles Stuart Bowyer (Astronomy) Forrest Mozer

Jill Tarter

David Liddell Brink (Forestry and Forest Products

Chemistry)

J. Keith Gilless

Richard Lane Calendar (Molecular and Cell

Biology)

Daniel Portnoy Jeremy Thorner Kathleen Collins Kiren A. Chaudhry (Political Science) Wendy Brown

William A. Clemens, Jr. (Paleontology and Kevin Padian

Integrative Biology)

Heinz Otto Cordes (Mathematics) Maciej Zworski

Gordon W. Frankie Howell V. Daly (Entomology)

Rollin E. Coville

Hubert Dreyfus (Philosophy) Hans Sluga

Edwin E. Dugger (Music) Cindy Cox

Charles Fillmore (Linguistics) Paul Kay

Richard Garcia (Entomology and Environmental

Sciences, Policy, and Management)

Vincent H. Resh William Tozer Barbara Des Rochers

Arthur Gill (Electrical Engineering and Computer Jeff Bokor John Canny

Sciences)

Stephen E. Glickman (Psychology and Integrative

Biology)

Lucia Jacobs

Frederic Theunissen Irving Zucker

Felipe Rochon Gutterriez (Rhetoric) Marianne Constable

> Michael Dalebout Nathan Atkinson Osita (IK) Udekwu

Charles B. Harris (Chemistry) Richard J. Saykally

Nicholas Mathew Daniel Heartz (Music)

Richard Scheffler Teh-Wei Hu (Public Health)

David Jenkins (Civil and Environmental Slav Hermanowicz David Sedlak

Engineering)

Mark Strovink

Leroy Thomas Kerth (Physics)

Jack F. Kirsch (Molecular and Cell Biology and

Chemistry)

Judith P. Klinman Michael A. Marletta

Michael J. Austin

Ralph M. Kramer (Social	i welfare)
-------------------------	-----------	---

Watson MacMillan Laetsch (Plant and Microbial

Biology)

Elanor Crump Lewis Feldman Russell Jones Renee Sung

Robert Irwin Macey (Molecular and Cell Biology) Terry Machen

Michael Grabe Teresa Moura Daniel Karan Lenore Wadzinski

Alaa E. Mansour (Mechanical Engineering) Ronald W. Yeung

Donald Liu

Elizabeth Zettersten

Mary Ann Mason (Social Welfare) Jill Duerr Berrick

Neil Gilbert

David Matza (Sociology)

Elliott Currie

Jonathan Simon

Douglas DeWitt McCreary (Environmental Science,

Policy, and Management)

Richard Standiford

William McKillop (Forest Economics)

J. Keith Gilless

John K. McNulty (Law)

Andrew Bradt

Povindar Kumar Mehta (Civil and Environmental

Engineering)

Paulo J.M. Monteiro Filip C. Filippou Jack P. Moehle Claudia P. Ostertag

Robert Middlekauff (American History) Paula S. Fass

Richard R. Johnson

Rolf Hugo Muller (Chemical Engineering)

C. Judson King

Elton J. Cairns

Joseph A. Myers (Native American Studies)

Juana María Rodríguez

Deborah Lustig

Miles A. Myers (Education) Mary Ann Smith

Sandra Murphy

Anthony Newcomb (Music and Italian Studies) Cindy Cox

Geoffrey Nunberg (Information) Paul Duguid

John J. Ohala (Linguistics) Keith Johnson

Nancy Turner Park (Principal Budget Analyst)

Tom Goldstein

Don McQuade

Herbert P. Phillips (Anthropology) Stanley Brandes

Norman Edgar Phillips (Chemistry)

C. Judson King

Arthur M. Poskanzer (Science) Peter Jacobs

Robert Pruger (Social Welfare) Leonard Miller

Eileen Gambrill

Gene I. Rochlin (Energy and Resources)

Daniel M. Kammen

Harry Rubin (Molecular and Cell Biology) G. Steven Martin

Mark Rubinstein (Business Administration) Hayne E. Leland

Donald E. Sarason (Mathematics) Michael Christ

Irwin Scheiner (History)

Mary Elizabeth Berry

Nilabh Shastri (Molecular and Cell Biology) David Raulet

Ellen Robey Astar Winoto Greg Barton

Arthur Paul Shimamura (Psychology) Bill Prinzmetal

Nina Dronkers Ken Paller Rich Ivry

Isadore Manuel Singer (Mathematics)

John Lott

Kirk Smith (Public Health) Ralph Catalano

John Balmes Justin Remais

David B. Starkweather (Health Services

Administration)

Thomas G. Rundall

Merlon L. Stevenson (Physics)

Mark Strovink

Angela Galtieri Anthony Spadafora

George Strauss (Business)

Krysten Crawford

David I. Levine

Herbert Leopold Strauss (Chemistry) Richard A. Mathies

David Stronach (Near Eastern Studies)

Benjamin W. Porter

Ignacio Tinoco, Jr. (Chemistry)

Carlos Bustamente

Robert Tracy (English) Eric Falci

Catherine Flynn Catherine Gallagher

Robert D. Tripp (Physics) Herbert Steiner

Martin Wachs (Civil and Environmental Alexandre Bayen Engineering and City and Regional Planning) Daniel Rodriguez

Elizabeth Deakin Adib Kanafani James L. Patton

David Wake (Integrative Biology)

Luther T. Wallace (Agricultural and Resource

Economics)

Jeffrey M. Perloff Marye Jayne Wallace

Richard M. White (Electrical Engineering and

Computer Sciences)

Clark T.-C. Nguyen Richard S. Muller

Eyvind Hugo Wichmann (Physics) Peter D. Hislop

Webster Wayne Wilcox (Environmental Science,

Policy, and Management)

Stephen Quarles Keith Gilless

Daniel B. Wile (Psychology) Carolyn Pape Cowan

Philip A. Cowan
Dorothy Kaufmann

Michael Charles Williams (Chemical Engineering) C. Judson King

Alexis T. Bell Clayton J. Radke

Leon Wofsy (Immunology) Jeremy Thorner

Respectfully submitted,

James Casey Chair, Committee on Memorial Resolutions (2020-21) Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Bioengineering