

May 1, 2019

# THE COMMITTEE ON TEACHING REPORT OF ACTIVITIES: 2018-2019

This Committee has at least five Senate members, of which a minimum of two should be past recipients of the Distinguished Teaching Award, and two student members, one undergraduate and one graduate.

#### **Duties**

- 1. Encourage and aid departments to strengthen their efforts to foster, recognize, and reward good teaching;
- 2. Nominate members of the Faculty for approval by the Divisional Council to receive Distinguished Teaching Awards and other awards as appropriate. Upon request from the Chancellor or members of the Chancellor's cabinet, solicit and submit nominations of faculty members as potential recipients of external awards for teaching.
- 3. Undertake special activities to improve teaching and learning on campus.
- 4. Study issues concerning teaching on the campus and make recommendations to the Berkeley Division.

To fulfill these charges, the Committee recognizes excellence in teaching through the Distinguished Teaching Awards, co-hosts and curates events to promote interest in and awareness of effective teaching, co-sponsors workshops and discussions on teaching practices, consults on a number of grant programs, and formulates recommendations to campus practices and policies to improve teaching and the climate for teaching on the Berkeley campus.

This year, the committee's work was focused on two areas - the Distinguished Teaching Award selection process and teaching-related issues on campus. These areas included:

- 1. Revising the DTA eligibility guidelines to include selection criteria that accounts for instructor ability in creating inclusive classrooms and supportive environments for all students.
- 2. Providing feedback to the Digital Learning Strategy working group co-directed by Catherine Koshland and Oliver O'Reilly.
- 3. Providing feedback on online evaluations through meetings with Miles Lincoln from the campus's Digital Learning Services

# **Distinguished Teaching Award**

Each year, the Committee solicits and reviews nominations for faculty Distinguished Teaching Awards (DTA) for approval by the Divisional Council. Four faculty members were selected this year: Robert Littlejohn (Physics), Steven Raphael (Public Policy), Andrea Roth (Law), and Ethan Shagan (History).

The selection of DTA recipients is a two-stage process. In stage one, during the fall semester, departments initiate nominations by submitting a brief nominating letter, a chronological list of courses taught during the last eight semesters of residence, a summary of teaching evaluations, and raw data from student evaluations in representative recent courses. Following a full review by the Committee, approximately 1/3-1/4 of the candidates are then advanced to stage two. Additional documentation is required at this stage, and following a prearranged schedule, each finalist is observed in a classroom or lab setting by at least two members of the Committee on Teaching. The award recipients are announced in March after formal ratification from DIVCO.

#### **Ceremonies and Events**

On April 24, 2019, the Committee again hosted the campus Distinguished Teaching Award ceremony at Sibley Auditorium. At that ceremony, recipients of the 2019 Distinguished Teaching Award were honored. The Committee hosted the reception that immediately followed the Teaching Award ceremony. The Committee also participated in the invite-only Banquet sponsored by Chancellor Christ and the Academic Senate, and organized by University Development and Alumni Relations.

### **Showcase of Teaching Innovation and Reinvention (STIR)**

Co-sponsored with the Center for Teaching and Learning and the Academic Innovation Studio, this daylong event aims to highlight work that has accomplished a variety of goals in improving pedagogy. This year's presentations included topics such as enhancing campus courses with online discussions, an inquiry-based approach to teaching critical thinking skills, teaching effective study techniques, helping students take charge of their own learning, and choreography as an embodied tool for writing and revision. The event also included a panel discussion with the 2018 Distinguished Teaching Award recipients moderated by COT Chair, Glynda Hull, and culminated with a Keynote Panel: Critique as a Way of Learning with Allan DeSouza (Art Practice), Kathleen Donegan (English), and Grace O'Connell (Mechanical Engineering) moderated by Hertha Sweet Wong, Associate Dean, Arts & Humanities.

## Participation/ Interaction with other Committees.

IT Governance Committee - Committee representative sits on the campus IT Governance Committee that is intended to facilitate collaboration among campus leadership in the prioritization, funding, design and use of IT to ensure cost effective support of UC Berkeley's

teaching, learning, research and administrative strategic priorities. Committee meets twice a year for 2 hours each meeting.

Campus Committee on Classroom Policy and Management (CCCPM) – Committee representative sits on CCCPM that oversees and approves policy issues related to classroom use, scheduling, and management. Topics may include, but are not limited to, the long-range plan for classrooms, recovery of classroom facilities following major disasters, summer use, construction and design standards for classrooms, renovation plans, and instructional technology in classrooms. Committee meets three times a year for 2 hours each meeting.

#### The Future

In 2019-2020 the Committee will again select recipients for the Distinguished Teaching Award (with formal endorsement from DIVCO) and it will continue to consult as needed on the other efforts put forth by the Academic Senate.

The Committee also intends to continue co-sponsoring teaching related events (like the Showcase of Innovation and Reinvention), as well as work related to its interest in improving the quality of evaluating teaching effectiveness across campus.

The Committee on Teaching welcomes suggestions about its mission and activities from members of the campus community.

Respectfully submitted,

Glynda Hull, Education (Chair)
Terri Bimes, Political Science
Micah Brush, Physics (Graduate Student)
John Campbell, Philosophy
Eugene Chiang, Astronomy
Richard Hernandez, Journalism
Rodolfo Mendoza-Denton, Psychology
Panos Patatoukas, Business
Lisa Pruitt, Mechanical Engineering
Mina Shaninfar, (Undergraduate Student)
Melanie Green, Staff Representative (Center for Teaching and Learning)