# **APPROVED**

#### 2019-2020 Annual Report Committee on Diversity, Equity, and Campus Climate

Professor David Ahn (Economics) served as chair of the Committee on Diversity, Equity, and Campus Climate (DECC) during the 2019-20 academic year. In fulfilling its charge, as established in the Bylaws of the Berkeley Division of the Academic Senate, DECC carried out the following activities.

*Note: items are listed chronologically in each section. Dates in parentheses, unless otherwise noted, indicate the date of committee correspondence regarding the item of business.* 

### I. Academic Program Reviews

- Department of German *Comments forwarded to Division Chair Oliver O'Reilly (October 15, 2019)*
- Department of Anthropology *Comments forwarded to Division Chair Oliver O'Reilly (November 8, 2019)*
- Department of Comparative Literature *Comments forwarded to Division Oliver O'Reilly (February 10, 2020)*
- Department of Rhetoric *Comments forwarded to Division Oliver O'Reilly (February 13, 2020)*
- Department of Helen Wills Neuroscience Institute Review *Comments forwarded to Division Oliver O'Reilly (April 1, 2020)*

### II. Finished Business

## A. Completed with Written Comment

- Proposed Revised Presidential Policy on Native American Cultural Affiliation and Repatriation *Comments forwarded to Division Oliver O'Reilly (October 2, 2019)*
- Strategic Plan's Signature Initiatives Reports Comments forwarded to Division Chair Oliver O'Reilly (January 22, 2020)

# **APPROVED**

- The Future of Graduate Education at UC Berkeley Comments forwarded to Division Chair Oliver O'Reilly (January 22, 2020)
- UC Berkeley Undergraduate Student Diversity Project Comments forwarded to Division Chair Oliver O'Reilly (January 22, 2020)
- UC Washington Center Review Comments forwarded to Division Chair Oliver O'Reilly (February 6, 2020)
- Report from the Working Group for the Signature Initiatives 6 *Comments forwarded to Division Chair Oliver O'Reilly (March 12, 2020)*
- Proposed New Presidential Policy on Gender Recognition and Lived Name *Comments forwarded to Division Chair Oliver O'Reilly (April 9, 2020)*
- Graduate Diversity Task Force *Comments forwarded to Division Chair Oliver O'Reilly (May 7, 2020)*
- Proposed Presidential Policy on Native American Cultural Affiliation and Repatriation *Comments forwarded to Division Chair Oliver O'Reilly (June 10, 2020)*

## B. Completed without Written Comment

Berkeley Faculty Link Program
Angy Stacy, Associate Vice Provost for t

Angy Stacy, Associate Vice Provost for the Faculty, Karie Frasch, Director, Faculty Equity and Welfare, and Professor Sandra Smith met with the committee (January 30, 2020) to discuss the new Berkeley Faculty Link Program. The new pilot program is funded by a grant from the Office of the President and will launch publicly in February.

- **Updates from the Academic Senate Budget Committee Chair** Professor Mary Ann Smart, Budget Committee Chair met with the committee (February 20, 2020) to discuss what the BC has purview over and recent priority issues.
- Vice Provost and Dean of the Graduate Division

### **APPROVED**

Professor Lisa García Bedolla, Vice Provost and Dean of the Graduate Division joined DECC (May 7, 2020) to discuss the Graduate Diversity Task Force.

### • Disabled Students' Program

Karen Nielson, Director of the Disabled Students' Program met with DECC (May 2, 2019) to discuss the current climate for students with disabilities.

 Updates from Campus and Systemwide Committee Representatives

DECC heard reports from its representatives on the Building Naming Committee (Professor Jeffrey Perloff); California Committee on Status of Women (Professor Susan Stone); University Committee on Affirmative Action, Diversity, and Equity (Professor Susan Schweik) throughout the year.

### III. Unfinished Business – None

### IV. Members of the Committee on Diversity, Equity, and Campus Climate

David Ahn (Economics), Chair Julianna Deardorff (Pub Health) Samera Esmeir (Rhetoric) – fall only Keith Feldman (Ethnic Stud) Ming Hsu (Business/Neuroscience) Mariska Kriek (Astronomy) Mohammad Mofrad (Bioengineering) – fall only Khalid Mosalam (Civil & Environmental Engineering) Michael Nylan (History) Jeffrey Perloff (ARE) Susan Schweik (English) Theodore Slaman (Math) – spring only Susan Irene Stone (Social Welfare) Christine Wildsoet (Optometry) Hertha Sweet Wong (English)