

Call for Nominations:

EDWARD A. DICKSON EMERITI PROFESSORSHIP

The Committee on Faculty Awards is pleased to announce its call for nominations for the 2020-21 Edward A. Dickson Emeriti Professorship.

DEADLINE: The deadline for submission of nominations is January 14, 2020.

BACKGROUND AND DESCRIPTION

The Edward A. Dickson Emeriti Professorship is supported by an endowment from Edward A. Dickson, a former Regent of the University. The Professorship is awarded annually to an emeritus faculty member who has an outstanding record of post-retirement contributions in any of the following areas: teaching, research, and public or University service. In accordance with the intent of the donor, funding for any of the above areas will be supported. An award of \$10,000 will be made to the Emeriti Professor for the up-coming fiscal year. The money may be used as a salary stipend or to provide for support activities as described in an accompanying budget proposal. *The highest priority will be for support of activities that benefit the campus and for which funding is not available from other sources*.

URL: <u>https://academic-senate.berkeley.edu/awards/dickson</u>

NOMINATION:

Each Department may submit one nomination for this Professorship. The Department Chair should prepare a letter of submission of no more than four pages, summarizing the post-retirement activities of the candidate and the significance of these activities for the campus community. Only post-retirement activities will be considered in the selection of the nominee. The future activities of the nominee for the year in which they would hold the Emeriti Professorship should be described in detail, and include a budget for allocation of the professorship funds. Supporting letters and c.v. are not requested.

We are also requesting a nomination for this professorship from the UC Berkeley Emeriti Association.

AWARD

The Committee on Faculty Awards of the Berkeley Division will review all nominations and make a recommendation for appointment to the Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost for the upcoming fiscal year.

Deadline for submission: is January 14, 2020

Department chairs should submit their nominations by e-mail to <u>acad sen@berkeley.edu</u>

or by campus mail to:

Committee on Faculty Awards UC Berkeley Division of the Academic Senate 320 Stephens Hall #5842

Questions may also be directed to <u>acad sen@berkeley.edu</u>



HISTORY OF THE EDWARD A. DICKSON EMERITI PROFESSORSHIP

Edward A. Dickson served as a Regent of the University of California from 1913 to 1946, the longest tenure of any Regent. In 1955, Mr. Dickson presented the University with a gift endowment which enables each campus to make an annual \$10,000 award recognizing teaching, research, or public service by one or more emeritus professors, or a salary stipend for emeriti professors on recall. The highest priority is for support of activities that benefit the campus and for which funding is not available from other sources. A historical list of Berkeley chairholders is presented below.

2007-08	Joseph Duggan, French
2008-09	Robert Sawyer, Mechanical Engineering
2011-12	C. Roger Glassey, Industrial Engineering and Operations Research
2012-13	Arlie Hochschild, Sociology
2013-14	Jerry Craddock, Spanish and Portuguese John M. Prausnitz, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
2014-15	Alan H. Nelson, English Joseph A. Wolf, Mathematics
2015-16	Joel Altman, English Carlos Muñoz Jr., Ethnic Studies
2016-17	John Casida, Environmental Science, Policy, and Management Jack Kirsch, Molecular and Cell Biology
2017-18	Mary Ann Mason, Social Welfare Kenneth Polse, Optometry
2018-19	Jan de Vries, History Christina Maslach, Psychology
2019-20	David Bogy, Mechanical Engineering Robert Glaeser, Molecular and Cell Biology