

Committee on Faculty Awards Report to the Division, April 15, 2024

In fulfilling its charge as established in the by-laws of the Berkeley Division of the Academic Senate, the Committee on Faculty Awards (FAC) carried out the following activities in 2023-24.

2024 Berkeley Faculty Service Award

The committee's nominations for the 2024 Berkeley Faculty Service Award are Deborah Nolan (Statistics) and Barbara Spackman (Italian Studies and Comparative Literature) and were approved by Divisional Council on April 1, 2024.

External Awards

Throughout the year, the Committee chair sends notices to Senate members about various external awards and honors to encourage departments to nominate colleagues.

The committee believes that faculty service is a crucial component of shared governance, and that outstanding service by the faculty should be recognized. Nominations are highly encouraged. Award information and calls are posted on the Division's webpage https://academic-senate.berkeley.edu/senate-service/awards

Benjamin Handel Chair, Committee on Faculty Awards Associate Professor of Economics