

Report of the Committee on Faculty Awards To the Division, May 9, 2018

In fulfilling its charge as established in the by-laws of the Berkeley Division of the Academic Senate, the Committee on Faculty Awards (FAC) carried out the following activities in 2017-18.

Edward A. Dickson Emeriti Professorship

The Dickson Emeriti Professorship recognizes emeriti having outstanding records of post-retirement teaching, research, or public service. Two emeriti nominations were selected and forwarded for approval to the Office of the Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost.

2018 Constantine Panunzio Distinguished Emeriti Award

The Panunzio Distinguished Emeriti Award is a systemwide award that each year honors an emerita/us in the humanities or social sciences who has performed outstanding scholarly work or educational service since retirement. The Berkeley Division nominated one emeritus for the award in 2018.

2018 Clark Kerr Award

The Clark Kerr Award for Distinguished Leadership in Higher Education recognizes individuals who have made extraordinary and distinguished contributions to the advancement of higher education. The committee has selected two nominees for approval by Divisional Council in 2018.

2018 Berkeley Faculty Service Award

The committee's recommendations to Divisional Council for the 2018 Berkeley Faculty Service Award were approved on December 11, 2017. Professors J. Keith Gilless (Environmental Science, Policy, and Management and Agricultural and Resource Economics) and Robert L. Powell (Political Science) will be honored as the recipients of this year's award at a private ceremony.

External Awards

Throughout the year, the Committee chair sends notices to Senate members about various awards and honors to encourage departments to nominate colleagues.

The committee believes that faculty service is a crucial component of shared governance, and that outstanding service by the faculty should be recognized. Nominations are highly encouraged. Award information and calls are posted on the Division's webpage at: http://academic-senate.berkeley.edu/awards

Anthony Long

Chair, Committee on Faculty Awards

Professor of the Graduate School and Chancellor's Professor Emeritus of Classics and Irving G. Stone Professor Emeritus of Literature