

Committee on Faculty Awards Report to the Division, April 30, 2020

In fulfilling its charge as established in the by-laws of the Berkeley Division of the Academic Senate, the Committee on Faculty Awards (FAC) carried out the following activities in 2019-20.

Edward A. Dickson Emeriti Professorship

The Dickson Emeriti Professorship recognizes emeriti who have outstanding records of postretirement teaching, research, or public service. Six nominations were considered by FAC. The names of two deserving faculty were forwarded for approval for the 2020-21 professorship.

The awardees for 2019-20 are David Bogy (Mechanical Engineering) and Robert Glaeser (Molecular & Cell Biology).

2019-20 Constantine Panunzio Distinguished Emeriti Award

The Panunzio Distinguished Emeriti Award is a systemwide award that each year honors an emeritus in the humanities or social sciences who has performed outstanding scholarly work or educational service since retirement. The Berkeley Division made one nomination this year.

2020 Clark Kerr Award

The Clark Kerr Award for Distinguished Leadership in Higher Education recognizes individuals who have made extraordinary and distinguished contributions to the advancement of higher education. The committee will nominate to Divisional Council for the 2020 award.

2020 Berkeley Faculty Service Award

The committee's two nominations for the 2020 Berkeley Faculty Service Award were Jeffrey Knapp (English) and Panayiotis Papadopoulos (Mechanical Engineering), and were approved by Divisional Council on December 2, 2019.

External Awards

Throughout the year, the Committee chair sends notices to Senate members about various external awards and honors to encourage departments to nominate colleagues.

The committee believes that faculty service is a crucial component of shared governance, and that outstanding service by the faculty should be recognized. Nominations are highly encouraged. Award information and calls are posted on the Division's webpage *https://academic-senate.berkeley.edu/senate-service/awards*

Ali Javey Chair, Committee on Faculty Awards Lam Research Distinguished Chair in Semiconductor Processing Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences