

Committee on Faculty Awards Report to the Division, May 3, 2022

In fulfilling its charge as established in the by-laws of the Berkeley Division of the Academic Senate, the Committee on Faculty Awards (FAC) carried out the following activities in 2021-22.

2022 Clark Kerr Award

The Clark Kerr Award for Distinguished Leadership in Higher Education recognizes individuals who have made extraordinary and distinguished contributions to the advancement of higher education. The committee will make two nominations to Divisional Council for the 2022 award.

2022 Berkeley Faculty Service Award

The committee's nomination for the 2022 Berkeley Faculty Service Award is Kris Gutiérrez (Education), and was approved by Divisional Council on April 11, 2022.

External Awards

Throughout the year, the Committee chair sends notices to Senate members about various external awards and honors to encourage departments to nominate colleagues.

The committee believes that faculty service is a crucial component of shared governance, and that outstanding service by the faculty should be recognized. Nominations are highly encouraged. Award information and calls are posted on the Division's webpage https://academic-senate.berkeley.edu/senate-service/awards

Benjamin Handel Chair, Committee on Faculty Awards Associate Professor of Economics