

Report of the Committee on Faculty Awards To the Division, May 3, 2017

In fulfilling its charge as established in the by-laws of the Berkeley Division of the Academic Senate, the Committee on Faculty Awards (FAC) carried out the following activities in 2016-17.

Edward A. Dickson Emeriti Professorship

The Dickson Emeriti Professorship recognizes emeriti having outstanding records of post-retirement teaching, research, or public service. Two nominations were selected and forwarded for approval to the Office of the Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost.

2016-17 Constantine Panunzio Distinguished Emeriti Award

The Panunzio Distinguished Emeriti Award is a systemwide award that each year honors an emerita/us in the humanities or social sciences who has performed outstanding scholarly work or educational service since retirement. The Berkeley Division's nomination, Professor Emeritus Neil Smelser (Sociology) was selected as the 38 UC Emeriti Professor in April 2017.

2017 Clark Kerr Award

The Clark Kerr Award for Distinguished Leadership in Higher Education recognizes an individual who has made an extraordinary and distinguished contribution to the advancement of higher education. The committee's nomination of Professor Mary Sue Coleman, president of the Association of American Universities, was approved by the Divisional Council on December 5, 2016. A private award ceremony will be held in her honor.

2017 Berkeley Faculty Service Award

The committee's recommendations to Divisional Council for the 2017 Berkeley Faculty Service Award were approved on March 20, 2017. Professor David Lieberman (Law) and Professor Trond Petersen (Sociology) will be honored as the recipients of this year's award.

External Awards

Throughout the year, the Committee chair sends notices to Senate members about various awards and honors to encourage departments to nominate colleagues.

The committee believes that faculty service is a crucial component of shared governance, and that outstanding service by the faculty should be recognized. Nominations are highly encouraged. Award information and calls are posted on the Division's webpage at: http://academic-senate.berkeley.edu/awards

Peter Berck Chair, Committee on Faculty Awards Professor of Agricultural and Resource Economics