

NOTICE OF MEETING*
BERKELEY DIVISION OF THE ACADEMIC SENATE
Tuesday, November 1, 2016, 3:00 – 5:00 p.m.
Chevron Auditorium, International House

Items on the agenda for the fall meeting of the Berkeley Division include:

• Update on the activities of the Chancellor's Joint Administrative/Senate Committee on Sexual Violence and Sexual Harassment

Dean Carla Hesse and Professor Barbara Spackman, co-chairs of the joint committee, will provide an update on the campus response to sexual violence and sexual harassment

Announcements

Chancellor Nicholas Dirks Division Chair Robert Powell Graduate Assembly Campus Affairs Vice President Dax viviD

• Report of standing committees

Committee on Academic Planning and Resource Allocation Committee on Rules and Elections (Written report)

Proposed legislation

Proposed amendments to Berkeley Division Bylaw 25 (Committee on Research)

^{*} Communications may be directed to the Academic Senate e-mail address: acad_sen@berkeley.edu.

In Memoriam

In Memoriam is a compilation of commemorative statements honoring deceased members of the Division, their lives, and service to the University. Memorials are contributed by various sources, including colleagues of the deceased and the Office of Public Affairs; *In Memoriam*, the systemwide Academic Senate's online publication, makes these tributes generally available.

The Committee on Memorial Resolutions has approved memorials for the following Berkeley faculty since May 2016. The authors of the memorials are listed in the column to the right.

Joonhong Ahn (Nuclear Engineering) Karl van Bibber, Jens

Birkholzer, Dana Buntrock

Thomas C. Alber (Molecular and Cell Biology)

Susan Marqusee

David H. Raulet

Seymour Chatman (Rhetoric and Media Studies)

Bridget Connelly

R. David Cole (Molecular and Cell Biology)

Angela N. H. Creager,

Kathleen S. Matthews,

Jack F. Kirsch

William Craig (Philosophy) Steven Givant, Paolo

Mancosu, Hajnal Andréka,

István Németi

Alan Stanley Curtis (Music) Mary Kay Duggan

David A. Dornfeld (Mechanical Engineering)

Masayoshi Tomizuka,

Paul Wright

Walter Jackson Freeman III (Molecular and Cell Biology) Gerald Westheimer

Paul Grabowicz (School of Journalism) Rob Gunnison

John David Jackson (Physics) Steven E. Boggs

Dwight M. Jaffee (Haas School of Business)

Kenneth Rosen, Nancy

Wallace

Stanley Mandelstam (Physics) Steven E. Boggs

Nicolas J. Perella (Italian Studies)

Steven Botterill

Chittoor V. Ramamoorthy (Electrical Engineering Farokh Bastani, Phillip

and Computer Science) Sheu

Howard A. Shugart (Physics) Steven E. Boggs

George Wolf (Nutritional Sciences & Toxicology)

Barry Shane

ORDER OF BUSINESS

I. Minutes

Minutes of the April 7, 2016, April 12, 2016, and May 3, 2016 meetings of the Division (Enclosures 1 - 3)

II. Announcements by the President

President Janet Napolitano is unable to attend.

III. Other Announcements

- A. Chancellor Nicholas Dirks
- B. Berkeley Division Chair Robert Powell
- C. Graduate Assembly Campus Affairs Vice President Dax viviD

IV. Special Orders-Consent Calendar

For proposed legislative amendments, **additions** to the current text are noted by an underline; **deletions** to the current text are noted by a strikethrough line. Per Division bylaws the consent calendar is approved in the absence of a quorum.

The Committee on Rules and Elections reviewed the following legislation and found the proposed amendments to be consonant with Berkeley Division bylaws and regulations. Divisional Council approved the proposed amendments.

A. Proposed amendments to Berkeley Division Bylaw 25

The Committee on Research (COR) proposes amendments to its bylaw to reflect its current duties and operational needs. Specifically, COR no longer awards and administers research grants for active-duty faculty. The campus Berkeley Excellence Accounts for Research program now serves this purpose. Accordingly, COR proposes to reduce the size of the committee, and eliminate the vice chair position. In addition, COR proposes to clarify reporting lines with respect to its participation in organized research unit reviews.

COMMITTEE ON RESEARCH BY-LAW

(Am. 4.29.04, 11.14.06, 5.1.14)

A. Membership

This Committee has a Chair, a Vice Chair, and at least fifteen nine Senate members.

B. Duties

- This Committee advises the Division in matters pertaining to the research mission of the Division and the University;
- Confers with and advises the Chancellor and the Vice Chancellor-Research on faculty perspectives regarding research policy matters;
- Establishes policies governing allocations to the Committee, and Administers and allocates funds designated <u>for emeritus</u> <u>faculty in support of research and scholarship</u> according to established policy; and,
- Participates in reviews of Organized Research Units and Mmakes recommendations to the VC-Research Divisional Council based on <u>these</u> reviews. of Organized Research Units.
- V. Reports of Special Committees (None)
- VI. Reports of Standing Committees
 - A. Committee on Academic Planning and Resource Allocation
 - B. Committee on Rules and Elections (Written report) Enclosure 4
- VII. Petitions of Students (None)
- VIII. Unfinished Business (None)
- IX. University and Faculty Welfare (Discussion only)
 - A. Update on the activities of the Chancellor's Joint Administrative/Senate Committee on Sexual Violence and Sexual Harassment

Dean Carla Hesse and Professor Barbara Spackman, co-chairs of the joint committee, will provide an update on the campus response to sexual violence and sexual harassment.

X. New Business (None)