To: Professor Barbara Spackman, Chair Berkeley Division of the Academic Senate

Re: Request for a Special Meeting of the Berkeley Division of the Academic Senate

Dear Professor Spackman,

We write to respectfully ask that you convene a Special Meeting of the Berkeley Division of the Academic Senate during the month of April 2019 to debate and vote on the following resolution:

"Whereas the campus leadership has failed to address the concerns of faculty on the ethical appropriateness and financial viability of using precious campus space to privately develop a housing project on the Upper Hearst site to partially subsidize the cost of developing additional space for the School of Public Policy; and

Whereas the campus leadership has failed to provide a realistic plan to mitigate the loss of parking space due to the proposed demolition of the Upper Hearst lot; now, therefore be it

Resolved, that the Berkeley Division of the Academic Senate asks the campus leadership to:

- 1. immediately suspend the Upper Hearst project;
- 2. provide to the faculty a full financial analysis of the current version of the project, including projections for the cost and occupancy scope of the housing part of the project;
- 3. work collaboratively with the faculty and staff of the north-east side of the Berkeley campus to explore alternative options to address the space needs of the School of Public Policy without unduly and irreparably burdening the neighboring academic units.

Signed (in alphabetical order)

Elad Alon EECS

Ana Arias EECS

Ruzena Bajcsy EECS

Tracy Becker Civil and Environmental Engineering

Peter Bickel Statistics

David Bogy Mechanical Engineering

Jeff Bokor EECS Jonathan Bray Civil and Environmental Engineering

Thomas Budinger EECS

Michael Cassidy Civil and Environmental Engineering

Matthew DeJong Civil and Environmental Engineering

Steven Evans Statistics and Mathematics

Filip Filippou Civil and Environmental Engineering

Michael Frenklach Mechanical Engineering

Dan Garcia EECS

Sanjay Govindjee Civil and Environmental Engineering

Costas Grigoropoulos Mechanical Engineering

Brian Harvey EECS

Boubacar Kante EECS

Richard Karp EECS

Robert Kayen Civil and Environmental Engineering

John Kubiatowicz EECS

Kam Lau EECS

Jennifer Listgarten EECS

Chunlei Liu EECS

Jitendra Malik

## **EECS**

Philip Marcus Mechanical Engineering

Andrew Minor Materials Science and Engineering

Jack Moehle Civil and Environmental Engineering

Paulo Monteiro Civil and Environmental Engineering

Richard Muller EECS

Rikky Muller EECS

Kara Nelson Civil and Environmental Engineering

Ren Ng EECS

James O'Brien EECS

Panos Papadopoulos Mechanical Engineering

Fernando Perez Statistics

Sam Pimentel Statistics

Elizabeth Purdom Statistics

Prasad Raghavendra EECS

Gireeja Ranade EECS

Jaijeet Roychowdhury EECS

Yoram Rubin Civil and Environmental Engineering

Alberto Sangiovanni Vincentelli EECS

Sanjit Seshia EECS

Carlo Sequin EECS

Jonathan Shewchuk EECS

Nicholas Sitar Civil and Environmental Engineering

Alex Skabardonis Civil and Environmental Engineering

Robert Taylor Civil and Environmental Engineering

Claire Tomlin EECS

Iris Tommelein Civil and Environmental Engineering

Martin Wainwright EECS

Laura Waller EECS

Jean Walrand EECS

Richard White EECS

Ming Wu EECS

Eli Yablonovitch EECS

Bin Yu Statistics

Tarek Zohdi Mechanical Engineering