Budget and Interdepartmental Relations (BIR)

Represents the Division in academic-appointment and promotion matters and in the allocation of resources.

Committee Roster 2019-20


  • Mary Ann Smart (Music/Italian) - Chair


  • Andrew Barshay (History)
  • Carlos Bustamante (Chemistry/Physics/MCB)
  • Gary Firestone (MCB)
  • Leslie Kurke (Classics/Comp. Lit.)
  • Victoria Plaut (Law)
  • Nicholas Sitar (CEE)
  • Miguel Villas-Boas (Business)
  • Kristen Whissel (Film & Media)

Ex Officio

  • Oliver O'Reilly (Mechanical Engineering) - Division Chair (nonvoting)


Meeting Schedule

The committee meets every Thursday throughout the year, and it also meets every Tuesday during the spring. Contact analyst for meeting information.

Annual Report

Please contact the committee analyst for additional reports.