Faculty Athletics Council (FACL)

As of May, 2020, the Senate Athletics Council has become the Faculty Athletics Council, a standing committee. FACL advises the Senate and Administration on matters pertaining to the welfare of student-athletes both in and out of the classroom.

Committee Roster 2021-22


  • Mark D'Esposito (Psychology/Neuroscience) - Chair


  • Kathryn Abrams (Law)
  • Rodrigo Almeida (ESPM)
  • Greg Aponte (Nutritional Sci & Toxicology)
  • Bryan Graham (Economics)
  • Chunlei Liu (EECS)
  • David Sraer (Business)

Ex Officio

  • Ronald C. Cohen (Chemistry/Earth and Planetary Science) – Division Chair (nonvoting)

  • Jenny Simon-O'Neill, Associate Director of Athletics (nonvoting)
  • Bob Jacobsen (Physics) - Faculty Athletics Representative (voting)
  • Steven Murray (Physical Education) - Undergraduate Council Representative (voting)


  • Mina Anglero - Graduate student-athlete

  • Lauren Calcagno - Undergraduate student-athlete

By Invitation

  • Derek Van Rheenen - Director, Athletic Study Center
  • Arman Samimi - Undergraduate student-athlete


  • Mark D'Esposito, Committee Chair 

Meeting Schedule

Fall semester meetings are to be determined; meetings will be held remotely.

Annual Report

Please contact the committee chair for additional reports.