Donate to the Senate

The Academic Senate offers two opportunities for individuals and organizations to support the Senate's role in shared governance:

Berkeley Division-Academic Senate Fund

This fund was established in the 1990’s with an initial gift from the late Professor John M. Quigley, who served as Berkeley Division Chair in 1996-97. The fund supports the ongoing operations of the Berkeley Division as well as awards that recognize and celebrate the accomplishments and achievements of Berkeley faculty.

The Berkeley Division of the Senate provides the organizational framework and support that enables the faculty to exercise its right to participate in the University's governance. Its awards include the Clark Kerr Award, the Berkeley Faculty Service Award, the Leon Henkin Citation, the Edward M. Dickson Emeriti Professorship, and the Distinguished Teaching Award. Your donation to this fund will help the Senate continue to fulfill its unique role in the governance of UC Berkeley and continue its tradition of honoring distinguished faculty.

Scheiber Emeriti Faculty Research Fund

Initially endowed by Harry and Jane Scheiber, and administered by the Senate’s Committee on Research, this fund supports the Senate's research grants to emeritus and emerita faculty members.  Harry Scheiber, Chancellor’s Emeritus Professor of Law, served on Academic Senate committees for forty-five consecutive years and was Berkeley Division Chair in 1994-95.  As Chair of the Committee on Research in 1991-92, he led the Senate’s grant program for emeriti faculty, helping keep them engaged in the life of the university and supporting their new and ongoing scholarship.  To donate to this fund, please contact Deborah Dobin at