Courses of Instruction (COCI)

Approves new courses and modification in existing courses; considers requests for variances in course and graduation requirements.

Committee Roster 2019-20


  • Robert Ashmore (EALC) - Chair


  • Anne Baranger (Chemistry)
  • Lauren Edelman (Sociology and Law)
  • Lee Fleming (IEOR & Business)
  • Terry Johnson (Bioengineering)
  • David Landreth (English)
  • Magaretta Lovell (Art History and American Studies)
  • David Milnes (Music)
  • Martha Olney (Economics)
  • Kevin Padian (Integrative Biology)
  • Zachary Pardos (Education)
  • Scott Stephens (ESPM)
  • Estelle Tarica (Spanish & Portuguese)
  • Noah Whiteman (Integrative Biology)

Student Members

  • Katherine Oosterbaan (Graduate Assembly)
  • Eliza Davis (ASUC)
  • Melvin Tangonan (ASUC)

Ex Officio

  • Oliver O'Reilly (Mech Eng) - Division Chair - nonvoting
  • J.Keith Gilless (ESPM and ARE) - Division Secretary
  • Bryan Wagner (English) - AMCULT Chair
  • Walter Wong (Office of the Registrar) - Registrar - nonvoting

By Invitation

  • Ivonne del Valle (Spanish & Portuguese) - AMCULT Alternate - nonvoting
  • Rebecca Sablo (Office of the Registrar) - Associate Registrar - nonvoting


Meeting Schedule

Meets twice monthly on Fridays from 1:30-3:30 p.m. in 320 Stephens Hall. Also see COCI Meeting Information.


Annual Report

Please contact the committee analyst for additional reports.