History of the Leon A. Henkin Citation

The Leon A. Henkin Citation for Distinguished Service is awarded by the Committee on Diversity, Equity, and Campus Climate (DECC) of the Berkeley Division of the Academic Senate. It is given in recognition of an "exceptional commitment to the educational development of students from groups who are underrepresented in the academy."

Leon Henkin was an Emeritus Professor of Mathematics who was a founder of the Committee on Special Scholarships in 1963. This committee of the Berkeley Division of the Academic Senate had the goal of enabling students from underrepresented groups to attend and excel at the University of California, Berkeley. Professor Henkin remained a member of this same-but-renamed Committee on Student Diversity and Academic Development (SDAD) until his death. (SDAD merged with the Status of Women and Ethnic Minorities to form the DECC in 2014). Professor Henkin worked tirelessly throughout his career to increase equity and access to higher education, and to promote the academic, personal, and professional success of Berkeley students from groups traditionally underrepresented in the academy. He was the first recipient of this Citation from the Academic Senate, and the Citation bears his name as testimony to his distinguished service.

The names of previous awardees from 1999-present are listed below.

Name Department Year
Julia Bryan-Wilson History of Art 2022
Waldo Martin History 2021
Brandi Catanese African American Studies and Theater, Dance and Performance Studies 2020
Rebecca Heald Molecular and Cell Biology 2019
Kurt Organista Social Welfare 2018
William Drummond Journalism 2016
Tyrone Hayes Integrative Biology 2015
Denise Herd Public Health 2014
David A. Weisblat Molecular and Cell Biology 2014
Mark Richards Earth and Planetary Sciences 2013
Susan Schweik English/Disability Studies 2013
Mahasin Mujahid Public Health 2012
Genaro Padilla English 2011
Karl S. Pister Civil and Environmental Engineering 2010
Katherine Sherwood Art Practice 2009
George Johnson Mechanical Engineering 2009
John T. Matsui Integrative Biology 2008
Margaret Conkey Anthropology 2007
Sally Fairfax Environmental Science, Policy, and Management 2007
Rosemary Joyce Anthropology 2007
Kent Lightfoot Anthropology 2007
Laurie Wilkie Anthropology 2007
Jabari Mahiri Education 2006
Caroline Kane Molecular and Cell Biology 2002
Leon A. Henkin Mathematics 1999