History of the Edward A. Dickson Emeriti Professorship

Edward A. Dickson served as a Regent of the University of California from 1913 to 1946, the longest tenure of any Regent. In 1955, Mr. Dickson presented the University with a gift endowment which enables each campus to make an annual $10,000 award recognizing teaching, research, or public service by one or more emeritus professors, or a salary stipend for emeriti professors on recall. The highest priority is for support of activities that benefit the campus and for which funding is not available from other sources. A historical list of Berkeley chairholders is presented below.

Name Department Year
Gordon C. Rausser Natural Resources 2021-22
Sheldon Zedeck Psychology 2021-22
Robert E. Bergman Chemistry 2020-21
Hugh Richmond English 2020-21
David Bogy Mechanical Engineering 2019-20
Robert Glaeser Molecular and Cell Biology 2019-20
Jan de Vries History 2018-19
Christina Maslach Psychology 2018-19
Mary Ann Mason Social Welfare 2017-18
Kenneth Polse Optometry 2017-18
John Casida Environmental Science, Policy, & Management 2016-17
Jack Kirsch Molecular and Cell Biology 2016-17
Joel Altman English 2015-16
Carols Munoz Jr. Ethnic Studies 2015-16
Alan H. Nelson English 2014-15
Joseph A. Wolf Mathematics 2014-15
Jerry Craddock Spanish and Portuguese 2013-14
John M. Prausnitz Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering 2013-14
Arlie Hochschild Sociology 2012-13
C. Roger Glassey Industrial Engineering & Operations Research 2011-12
Robert Sawyer Mechanical Engineering 2008-09
Joseph Duggan French 2007-08